European legislators reached political agreement on the Directive on the interoperability of electronic road toll systems and facilitating crossborder exchange of information on the failure to pay road fees in the Union (“the recast Directive”1, expected to be adopted and published in the first quarter of 2019), which provides for the adoption by the Commission of a certain number of delegated acts:

• to lay down the details for the classification of vehicles for the purposes of
establishing the applicable tariff schemes;
• to further define the obligations of the EETS users;
• to lay down the requirements for interoperability constituents regarding safety
and health, reliability and availability, environment protection, technical compatibility, security and privacy and operation and management;
• to lay down the general infrastructure requirements regarding:

– accuracy of toll declaration data with a view to guaranteeing equality of treatment
between EETS Users in respect of tolls and charges;
– identification through the on-board equipment (OBE) of the responsible EETS
– use of open standards for the interoperability constituents of the EETS
– integration of the OBE in the vehicle;
– signalisation to the driver of the requirement to pay a road fee;

• to lay down the minimum criteria of eligibility for notified bodies;
• to update Annex II to take into account any relevant amendments to be made to Council Decisions 2008/615/JHA and 2008/616/JHA or where this is required by any other relevant Union acts;

In order to assist the Commission in the preparation of delegated acts, the Commission’s Directorate-General for Mobility and Transport (‘DG MOVE’) has set up an informal group of experts on electronic tolls (“the group”).

Register of Commission expert groups and other similar entities: Calls for applications Deadline for applications: 24 February 2019.

Click here for more information.

Source: European Commission