Established in 2010 the ITS Hall of Fame Awards is granted every year to three influential personalities in the three regions Europe Americas and Asia-Pacific.

The recipients of the awards are selected based on their standard of leadership in transport technology. Each person has served an outstanding lifelong career dedicated to organisational leadership in the field and thought leadership contributing to the vision of intelligent transport systems.

The winner for the Americas this year was Gerald Conover PRC Associates USA. Mr Conover noted that ITS is still a very young industry but that after only 20 years ITS is deployed and it works – “ITS is in the hands of the public – through mobile phones

Gerald Conover – “To be recognised by one’s peers for one’s lifetime’s work is very moving

Xiaojing Wang China National ITS Centre China was the winner for the Asia-Pacific region. Mr Wang highlighted the progress in China in recent years and that in big cities “ITS is a powerful tool for traffic management”. Mr Wang also highlighted the importance of international cooperation for the success of ITS deployment.

Xiaojing Wang –  “Today China has made great achievements in ITS

Finally Fotis Karamitsos DG Move European Commission and 2010 winner of the ITS Hall of Fame accepted the European award on behalf of the late Job Klijnhout Rijkswaterstaat The Netherlands with a very moving and personal speech. Mr Karamitsos paid tribute to Mr Klijnhout as “a pioneer a innovator a giant in the field”. An obituary by Eric Sampson “A Farewell to a Renaissance Man” can be read here.

Fotis Karamitsos –  “Job was an inspiration to many a source of wisdom to all – and a friend of many in this room

Link to original Article

Original Publication Date: Thu 25 Oct 2012