The iMobility Awards ceremony took place at the at the European Commission Stand ITS European Congress, Helsinki on Wednesday 18 June 2014 at 5.30pm.

Hermann Meyer, CEO of ERTICO – ITS EUROPE, and Lina Konstantinopoulou, iMobility Support Coordinator welcomed the attendees by highlighting the importance of the iMobility Awards in recognising and promoting ambitious and innovative iMobility deployments, paving the way to safe, smart and clean road mobility. 

Presiding over the Awards Ceremony, Lina Konstantinopoulou congratulated all the nominees, paying tribute to their high calibre and professionalism, before calling the three winners to the stage to hand over their awards. The iMobility Awards were handed over by the 4 chairs of the iMobility Forum, EC, ERTICO, ACEA, ASECAP.

In the industry/technology category, TomTom  – represented by Mr Theo Kamalski –  received the Award by Marko Jandrisits, ASECAP for their outstanding work in the deployment of real time travel and traffic information in Europe, and especially on providing users with maximum value and minimising distraction.

Mr Theo Kamalski, Tom Tom Video

In the policy category, Rijkswaterstaat – represented by Mr Frans Op de Beek- was rewarded by the European Commission, DG CONNECT for their key contribution to the development of a new policy framework for ITS in The Netherlands and their continuous contribution to overcome barriers for the implementation and deployment of ITS in Europe.

Mr Frans Op de Beek, Rijkswaterstaat Video

In the national/local category, HeERO I and II – represented by Andy Rooke, ERTICO – ITS EUROPE – received the Award by Aldo Celasco, ACEA for the projects’ outstanding contributions to successfully deploy eCall at national level.

Mr Andy Rooke, ERTICO – ITS EUROPE Video

A special, discretionary iMobility Award 2013 (life time achievement award) was given by Hermann Meyer, ERTICO – ITS EUROPE to Mr Juhani Jaaskelainen, in recognition of his dedication throughout his working life to transport and intelligent mobility, spending almost 20 years in the European Commission (in DG III, INFSO and CONNECT) and being chair of the iMobility Forum.  

Mr Juhani Jaaskelainen Video


About iMobility Support

iMobility Support is a project co-funded by the 7th Framework Programme of the European Union. It fosters the deployment of intelligent mobility in Europe by organising the iMobility Forum activities, including stakeholder networking, deployment support, awareness raising and dissemination of results of ICT for smart, safe and clean mobility (mainly cooperative ITS).

The project supports the iMobility Forum constituencies and activities, it monitors the deployment of iMobility priority systems, it encourages the usage of Pre-Commercial Procurement (PCP) for ITS, it supports and reports on ITS standardisation, it identifies certification needs, it fosters the deployment of the European eCall system, and it supports international collaboration where needed.

Project partners: AustriaTech – Gesellschaft des Bundes für Technoligiepolitische Massnahmen GmbH, Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile, Association des Constructeurs Européens d’Automobiles (ACEA), Teknologian Tutkimuskeskus (VTT), Q-Free ASA and DEKRA Automobil GmbH

For more information, visit or contact: Lina Konstantinopoulou, Senior Project Manager, ERTICO – ITS Europe, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Last modified on Thursday, 19 June 2014

Original author: Lina