Intelligent Transport Systems Australia is calling for nominations by 30 September 2014 for its expanded National ITS Awards program.

The 2014 National ITS Awards program has been expanded to five categories to better reflect the growth, diversity and maturity experienced by the industry in recent years. ITS Australia Chief Executive Officer Susan Harris said establishing three new award categories will enable judges to recognise innovation from a wider range of organisations.

“Australia is now a world leader in ITS technologies. The expanded National ITS Awards program will take that message to an international audience of potential customers,” said Susan Harris.

“There is strong incentive to enter the new Industry Award and Government Award categories. These categories offer the chance to be nominated by ITS Australia for an Achievement Award to be announced at the 2015 ITS World Congress in Bordeaux, France. Those winners will be recognised on this important international podium in front of more than 10,000 industry colleagues.

Awards benefits

In addition to the exceptional exposure ensured through the National ITS Awards, entrants also benefit from the actual process of nominating. Laura Shirtley, a Graduate ICT Engineer at Jacobs Engineering Group said her experience in writing her entry for the 2013 Young Professional Award was valuable.

“Answering the questionnaire made me truly reflect on my early professional ITS experience in a way I hadn’t had the opportunity to do so previously. It highlighted how I had developed as a professional ITS practitioner and it also furthered me on my path to becoming a Chartered Engineer,” said Laura Shirtley.

“Upon being short listed, I attended the Awards ceremony, which allowed me to meet many of the brightest lights in the industry. This recognition also enabled me to talk to many of my non-ITS colleagues at Jacobs to raise the profile of ITS and the important safety role it plays in modern society. I recommend all young engineers have a try and enter themselves,” she said.

Winning the 2013 Young Professional Award brought an extraordinary opportunity to New South Wales Roads and Maritime Services Mechatronic Engineer Ben Cribbin. “As the winner of last year’s ITS Australia’s Young Professional Award, I was given the chance to attend the 2014 Asia Pacific Forum in Auckland. It was a fantastic event with a vast range of ITS industry knowledge and experience being shared,” said Ben Cribbin.

“This event was also an excellent networking opportunity. I was delighted by how many people recognised me for having won the award. It opened a multitude of doors and introduced me to people from across the industry, all of whom gave me valuable insights into their part in it.

“This award has left me feeling very welcome in the ITS community. I look forward to all the future possibilities and opportunities in which I can participate,” he said.


Award Categories

  • Research Academic Award
  • Government Award
  • Young Professional Award
  • Industry Award
  • Lifetime Achievement (Max Lay Award) – Selected by ITS Australia Board of Directors – not open to nominations.

For a full criteria description for each of the categories please visit the website of ITS Australia. Nominations are now open!