Several Member States took important steps to extend the 5G European network by signing regional agreements on 5G corridors. Following those new agreements and with previous agreements between many European countries, a pan-European network of 5G corridors is now emerging with hundreds of kilometers of motorways where tests will be conducted up to the stage where a car can operate itself with a driver present under certain conditions (third level of automation).

Last year, 27 Member States agreed to develop large scale testing of connected and automated driving on European motorways (cross-border corridors) in the context of Digital Day 2017. One year on, the Bulgarian Presidency of the Council of the European Union represented by Deputy Minister Ivan Dimov, Ministry of Education and Science, Vice-President for the Digital Single Market Andrus Ansip and Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society Mariya Gabriel gather Member States in Brussels at this year’s Digital Day to take stock of the progress made, announce additional corridors and discuss the next steps.

This collaborative network between European countries will enable a better environment for the testing and deployment of 5G technology. There are already several important initiatives in place: France, Germany and Luxembourg have announced a joint corridor between Luxembourg, Metz and Merzig; followed by Norway, Finland and Sweden with the E8 corridor between Tromsø (Norway) and Oulu (Finland) and the E18 corridor between Helsinki, Stockholm and Oslo; the Netherlands and Belgium join in with the Rotterdam – Antwerp – Eindhoven corridor.


To read the full article, click here.

Source: European Commission