The ERTICO Supervisory Board had charged a Selection Committee to evaluate the candidacies for the upcoming ITS Congresses in Europe (European and World). The Selection Committee was composed of Jean Mesqui (Chairman ERTICO Supervisory Board), Cees de Wijs (ERTICO Supervisory Board), Angelos Amditis (ERTICO Supervisory Board), Eric Sampson, Juhani Jaaskelainen (retired Head of Unit European Commission), Hermann Meyer (CEO ERTICO).

At the 10th ITS European Congress in Helsinki, the ERTICO Supervisory Board welcomed and thanked all candidate host cities for all their excellent efforts, motivation and commitment to host an ERTICO Congress. At the same time the ERTICO Supervisory Board approved the ranking of the candidacies following evaluation by the Selection Committee and announced the preferred choices for the European Congresses 2016 and 2017 and World Congress 2018:

  • 11th ITS European Congress – Glasgow 2016
  • 12th ITS European Congress – Strasbourg 2017
  • 23rd ITS World Congress – Copenhagen 2018

The above mentioned host cities were ranked first by the Selection Committee and are therefore considered as “preferred choice”. As next step, the Supervisory Board charged the ERTICO office to work on a cooperation agreement with the cities mentioned above to enable a final decision on the future hosts.