A Memorandum of Understanding on the establishment of an Executive Council of the Orient/East Mediterranean rail freight corridor was signed in Brussels on 5 December by the transport ministers of Austria, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Romania and Slovakia.

The new Executive Board will be responsible for defining the general objectives of the freight corridor and will supervise and take measures to ensure competitive freight.

The Orient/East Mediterranean rail freight corridor starts from the German ports of Bremen, Hamburg and Rostock, passes through the Czech Republic and Slovakia with a branch that crosses Austria and continues through Hungary to the Romanian Port of Constanța. Another branch is from Romania via Vidin to the Greek ports of Thessaloniki and Piraeus, to Istanbul and Bourgas.