The new Transport Committee of the European Parliament met for the first time on Tuesday 21 July. Brian Simpson (UK S&D) was elected Chairman Peter van Dalen (NL ECR) Silvia-Adriana Þicãu (RO S&D) and Dieter-Lebrecht Kocht (DE EPP) were elected Vice-Chairmen. For the full composition of the Transport Commitee click here

Further Committee meetings will take place after the summer recess from 31 August 2009.

Of special interest to the ITS community two Commission communications were discussed in the Transport Committee on 21 July.

“A sustainable future for transport: Towards an integrated technology-led and user friendly system” (COM(2009) 279) was adopted by the Commission on 17 July 2009 and is to stimulate further debate aimed at identifying future transport policy options in the context of the forthcoming 2010 White Paper.

The “Report on the implementation of the GNSS programmes and on future challenges” (COM(2009) 302) adopted by the Commission on 26 July 2009 is the first annual report on the implementation of the GNSS programmes and the main challenges ahead. It also highlights the status of implementation of some important decisions that were taken in 2008.

Link to original Article

Original Publication Date: Tue 27 Jul 2010