Two years after their first meeting, transport ministers will meet again in Helsinki on Tuesday 17 June to continue the discussion started at the ITS World Congress in Vienna.

In a joint statement on 22 October 2012, 11 ministers and deputy ministers, Vice-President Siim Kallas and 16 high representatives of world governements called for an harmonised deployment of ITS in order to achieve a common approach for safer, more sustainable and more efficient transport systems.

The statement was acknowledged by the European Commission and 31 countries, namely Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Greece, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Russia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Thailand, The Netherlands, Turkey and the United States.

Read the full Executive Summary here.