The Commissioner for Transport, Violeta Bulc, took part in a ceremony last week in Brussels (Belgium) to reward organisations for their commitments to road safety.

The Excellence in Road Safety Awards 2016 recognises those organisations that have a significant impact on saving lives on Europe’s roads.

The winners were selected from the two categories, School Challenge and Best Practice. 

Awards in the School Challenge category went to:

School Challenge and Best Practice. Awards in the School Challenge category went to:

  • the Colegio Público Miguel de Cervantes in Gijón (Spain), and
  • the Lockerbie Academy (UK).

Awards in the Best Practice category went to:

  • Børneulykkesfonden and Codan Forsikring (Denmark),
  • Centrum Bezpieczeństwa Ruchu Drogowego (Poland), and
  • ACA Automobil Club (Albania).

Violeta Bulc said: ‘Grassroots initiatives like these are crucial in our efforts to reach our strategic goal to halve road fatalities by 2020. I can only encourage everyone, at whatever level you work, to carry on the great work and to pass on your experiences, so that great ideas can be used again elsewhere.’