On 20 June the ERTICO Partnership gathered in Brussels on the occasion of the annual General Assembly (GA) to address the activities and strategy of the past and coming year.

Over 60 representatives from the different Sectors represented by ERTICO (service providers public authorities vehicle manufacturers suppliers users research mobile network operators and traffic and transport industry) focused on the organisation’s activities and policy positions  as well as discussing the next important milestones such as the 19th ITS World Congress organised by ERTICO in close cooperation with the Austrian Host the European Commission ITS America and ITS Asia-Pacific in Vienna next October.

This year’s GA is particularly significant as it is the first year  following the modification of ERTICO Statutes. All eight Sectors of the ERTICO Partnership will be represented in the newly elected Supervisory Board (SB) from now on. In addition a new Chairman of the SB was appointed. Gunter Zimmermeyer wished the best of luck to Jean Mesqui his successor as Chair of the SB by saying “chairing the ERTICO Supervisory Board is a great honour and responsibility ERTICO is increasingly taking on the role of providing a bridge between development and deployment of Intelligent Transport Systems. We have made important steps towards realising ITS to the benefit of users and society”.

Jean  Mesqui stated: “I feel very privileged to have this opportunity and I thank my colleagues for their trust; it is clear that the ERTICO public-private Partnership is most essential for Europe to succeed with the development and deployment of Intelligent Transport Systems working in close cooperation with the European Commission and other major stakeholders. I want ERTICO Partnership’s role strengthened in Europe because a strong ERTICO means strong commitment to deployment of ITS in Europe”.

In concluding the meeting Hermann Meyer ERTICO CEO took the opportunity to thank the resigning Board and Chairman for their extraordinary support to the organisation over the past years and wished the newly elected SB a fruitful new collaboration.

The new elected ERTICO Supervisory Board include:

Chairman: Jean Mesqui (ASFA)
Vice Chairman: Dean Herenda (Ministry of Infrastructure & Spatial Planning Slovenia)

Members of the Board:

Service Providers
Eric-Mark Huitema (IBM)
Thomas Ivarson (Logica)
Klaus Schnell (Nokia)


Marcel Visser (Cinterion a Gemalto Company)
Frank Försterling (Continental Corporation)
Masayuki Goto (Denso Sales UK Ltd)

Traffic and Transport Industry

Jean Mesqui (ASFA)
Hauke Jürgensen (Siemens AG)
Cees de Wijs (Xerox)

Mobile Network Operators
Samuel Loyson (Orange Business Services)                                                   

Vehicle Manufacturers
Joachim Scholten (BMW Group)
Christian Rousseau (Renault)
Malin Persson (Volvo Technology Corporation)

Public Authorities

Lena Erixon (Swedish Transport Administration)
Svend Tøfting  (North Denmark Region)
Dean Herenda (Ministry of Infrastructure & Spatial Planning Slovenia)

Jacob Bangsgaard (FIA)
Michael Nielsen (IRU)

Francisco Sanchez (CTAG)
Angelos Amditis  (Institute of Communication and Computer Systems)
Phil Blythe (Newcastle University)

Ex-officio Members of Supervisory Board
Gunter Zimmermeyer (Bosch) as Past Chairman
Ivan Hodac (ACEA) as Secretary
Hermann Meyer as CEO of ERTICO

Download the Press Release.

Link to original Article


Original Publication Date: Thu 21 Jun 2012