The European Green Deal aims to make Europe climate neutral by 2050, boosting the economy through green technology, creating a sustainable industry and transport, and cutting pollution. The Smart and Sustainable Mobility Strategy proposes a variety of actions, including the expectation that a possible fleet of up to 13 million electric vehicles in 2025 will require the number of publicly accessible recharging points to grow from approximately 200,000 in 2020 to at least 1 million in 2025.

In this context, it can reasonably be expected that most, if not all, municipal, regional and national public authorities in the EU will at some point in time be required to publicly procure, award concessions or grant government support for the construction and operation of recharging points in their territories.

To support them on this endeavour, the Sustainable Transport Forum expert group has drawn up a set of recommendations for public authorities procuring, awarding concessions, licenses and/or granting support for electric recharging infrastructure for passenger cars and vans (M1 and N1 category of vehicles according to UNECE standards).

The Handbook highlights the main findings, recommendations and examples of the STF Recommendations adopted by the STF Plenary of 2020.

The STF Recommendations are meant to provide practical guidelines for public authorities that are either looking to procure recharging infrastructure or to award concessions for their roll-out and/or operation, possibly linked to the granting of government support. The Recommendations offer an overview of different deployment approaches across the EU, and identify some best and innovative practices by frontrunners. Taking account of different deployment speeds and needs, the STF developed a set of minimum recommendations that help all public authorities deploy fit-for-future and consumer-friendly recharging infrastructure at the lowest possible public cost. The summary Handbook provides off-the-shelf best practice examples, ready for use by national, regional and local authorities throughout the EU.

Source: European Commission