The iMobility Forum has recently been discussing the need for targeted actions focusing on how to improve the exchange of map data between public authorities and map makers. This discussion led to the new i-Mobility recommendation Number 10 based on the results achieved by the ROSATTE project. The recommendation calls for a fast deployment of a harmonised solution throughout Europe in preparation of the priority actions 1.2 and 1.3 of the ITS action plan.
For this reason the iMobility Forum Steering Group has agreed to re-activate the Digital Maps Working Group under the co-chairmanship of the Swedish Traffic Administration TomTom and NAVTEQ. The Working Group will advise and validate the activities leading to the establishment of an independent implementation platform promoting and extending the scope of the validated ROSATTE framework as an enabler for the implementation of map data exchange between public authorities and map makers.

In addition to the iMobility Forum recommendation the Working Group will take into account other important factors: first of all the ITS Action Plan and ITS Directive and its Sub-Area 1.2: Collection and provision of road data and Sub-Area 1.3: Accurate public data for digital maps for which a study will be published in the near future. Secondly the INSPIRE Directive and third the Share-PSI Directive. In addition the Working Group is linked to the EASYWAY project deployment activities.

On 28 September 2011 the Digital Maps Working Group met for its first meeting. The topics of discussion were centred on the definition of a future organisation which would allow a harmonised exchange of data between public and private parties; the option of defining a Memorandum of Understanding for the deployment of a common solution has been retained. The group came also to the conclusion that additional actions on geo-location referencing as well as on legal and intellectual property issues would be needed.  The Working Group will actively liaise with the current standardisation efforts e.g. ISO TC204 WG3 as well as with other existing activities such as the INSPIRE Thematic Working Group on Transport Networks.

The next Working Group meeting will take place on 30 November 2011. Interested iMobility Forum partners are invited to show their interest in order to receive more information. The current members are: Swedish Transport Administration TomTom NAVTEQ Norwegian Public Roads Administration  Flemish Ministry – Department Mobility and Public Works Bavaria Road Authorities Transport of London ASFA PTV Triona and ERTICO.

The number of members of the Working Group is limited to 15 observers are invited depending on topics to be discussed.

Contact: Anna Johansson-Jacques Stephen T’Siobbel and/or Kees Wevers.

Link to original Article

Original Publication Date: Wed 28 Sep 2011