With the total participation of 611 people including 459 congress delegates and 27 exhibitors from 20 countries/areas worldwide the 11th Asia-Pacific ITS Forum & Exhibition (APF2011) was successfully held between 8-10 June 2011 at the Grand HI-LAI ARENA in Kaohsiung Taiwan.

Photo: Photo (from the left): Mr Scott Belcher CEO ITS America USA Dr Bambang Susantono President ITS Indonesia Mr Chullho Lieu President Korea Expressway Corporation Korea Dr John Lee President ITS Taiwan Mr Chi Kuo Mao Minister of Transportation and Communications Taiwan Mrs Chu Chen Mayor of Kaohsiung City Taiwan Dr Kent Wang Director General DoT Kaohsiung City Government Taiwan Dr Ko Yang Wang. Institute for Information Industry Taiwan Dr Hiroyuki Watanabe Chairman ITS Japan Prof S.K. Jason Chang Chair of 2011ITS AP Forum Taiwan


Following the welcome words by Dr. John Li president of ITS Taiwan the event started with a gong in the opening ceremony with the presence of the distinguished people on the stage including the president of ITS Indonesia a new member of ITS Asia-Pacific.

Photo: Dr Hermann Meyer CEO ERTICO-ITS Europe

Photo: Mr Gerald Conover PRC Associates USA

Other Asia-Pacific Events

Prior to the APF2011 the ITS Asia-Pacific Board of Directors welcomed on 7 June 2011 ITS Indonesia as a new member and all members signed together a revised ITS Asia-Pacific Memorandum of Understanding.


Photo: AP-BOD Members

In addition several bi-lateral MoUs were signed between:

  • ITS Thailand and ITS Malaysia
  • ITS Thailand and ITS Taiwan
  • ITS Taiwan and ITS America.

Photo: MoU Signing between ITS Taiwan and ITS America

The event successfully created a platform where planners engineers government officials stakeholders and experts in the ITS field from the Asia-Pacific region and the world can join together to share their knowledge and experience in the deployment and implementation of ITS.


This article has been brought to you as part of the cooperation between ERTICO and ITS Japan.

Link to original Article


Original Publication Date: Fri 24 Jun 2011