The European Commission has updated the European list of airlines subject to an operating ban or operational restrictions within the European Union (EU air safety list). All airlines from Libya have now been added to the EU Air Safety List and are banned from operating in European airspace. No decisions were taken to remove countries whose carriers are on the EU Air Safety List. The new list can be found on the Commission’s website.

Violeta Bulc, EU Commissioner for Transport said: “Recent events in Libya have led to a situation whereby the Civil Aviation Authority is no longer able to fulfil its international obligations with regard to the safety of the Libyan aviation sector. My priority in aviation is passenger safety, which is non-negotiable, and we stand ready to help the Libyan aviation sector as soon as the situation on the ground will allow for this. I am also pleased to see that progress has been made in a number of countries whose carriers are on list, notably the Philippines, Sudan, Mozambique and Zambia. Hopefully this progress can lead to a positive decision in the future.”

The updated EU air safety list includes all airlines certified in 21 states, for a total of 308 airlines fully banned from EU skies: Afghanistan, Angola, Benin, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Gabon (with the exception of 3 airlines which operate under restrictions and conditions), Indonesia (with the exception of 5 airlines), Kazakhstan (with the exception of one airline which operates under restrictions and conditions), Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Libya, Mozambique, Nepal, Philippines (with the exception of two airlines), Sierra Leone, São Tomé and Príncipe, Sudan and Zambia. The list also includes two individual airlines: Blue Wing Airlines (Suriname) and Meridian Airways (Ghana), for an overall total of 310 airlines.

Additionally, the list includes 10 airlines which are subject to operational restrictions. These airlines can only fly to the Union with specific aircraft types: Air Astana (Kazakhstan), Afrijet, Gabon Airlines and SN2AG (Gabon), Air Koryo (Democratic People’s Republic of Korea), Airlift International (Ghana), Air Service Comores (the Comoros), Iran Air (Iran), TAAG Angolan Airlines (Angola) and Air Madagascar (Madagascar).

More information can be found here